Groups and Forms

This room is designated for designers of all skills and backgrounds to share information, tips, ideas and concepts with each other.
bjindrich

Groups and Forms

Post by bjindrich »

What are the intended uses of Groups versus Forms? Clearly, Forms are very specific types of shapes and can be edited in shape-specific ways. And Groups seem more for visual identification, although there's also the ability to select a Group, and I'm wondering how that fits into the overall drill writing workflow. When might I want to select a Group and what would I do after I selected it?

Any tips are appreciated, as I'm still learning the tool. For example, in your experiences:
When does it make sense to create permanent groups? When does it make sense to create set specific groups?
When does it make sense to have performers in multiple groups on a given page?
Is it typical that every performer on every page is in a Form (other than scatter/random forms), or are there times that having performers NOT in Forms makes sense or is easier to do?
Can Forms be used to help design some of the drill shapes? If so, what are the common scenarios?

thanks in advance!
William

Re: Groups and Forms

Post by William »

Hi bjindrich,

You mostly have the right idea. Forms are for getting performers to align to a specific shape that is well defined in terms of positioning and intervals. As you mentioned Forms are permanent on that particular set so you can set the performers then come back later and adjust the Form to suit your needs, and the performers are moved along with it.