Envision drill design workflow

This room is designated for designers of all skills and backgrounds to share information, tips, ideas and concepts with each other.
bjindrich

Envision drill design workflow

Post by bjindrich »

Hi All,
Apologies in advance for the long post, but I'm a long-time drill writer, and I've been using an old, unsupported drill writing program for a long time. I can't seem to find a program that easily supports the workflow that I've been using for many years. I'm hoping that I can easily move on to Envision, but I'm still evaluating the free trial to confirm. I'll probably be posting additional questions, but here are some of my primary questions...

The program I've been using makes is very easy to do the following:
- Take existing forms of players and regroup & reshape them in any way (straighten them into a line, reshape into a "spline", regroup players on each page) etc.
- Select a set of players and equalize the interval between them, regardless of the group(s) that they are in.
- Swap a set of players for a given transition and have that swap propagate all the way, either forwards or backwards or through the entire drill.

These things are very important to the way I've come to design drill. I will typically "draft" the movement around the field a song at a time, where I'll move sections of players to set up and stage the groups appropriately, without necessarily knowing the specific types of form(s) that I'll write. After laying out the general movement, I’ll go back and starting defining & refining the drill forms for each page. This is where I’ll start deciding that I want a block here, a circle there, a straight line there, a meshed curve there, etc. Additional flexibility that I need is to be able to experiment with combining players in different groups and reshaping them into different forms.